Chessie (Chocolate Labrador Retriever / Mixed (short coat))

About the shelter

All-American Mutt Rescue, Inc

Huddleston, 24104

More about the shelter

About Chessie

Distance: 289 Miles
Hi … my name is Chessie and here are some things you need to know about me!  After you read through my bio, if you think I might be the perfect pup for you, please go to and complete your adoption application online. I AM A SUPER SENIOR! I am a big sweet girl who just loves to be loved.  I may be a senior, but I still have lots of love to give.  All I need now is a family of my very own to share the rest of my life with.  I will be sooooo good … and I’ll do everything I can to bring joy to your life.  I’d love to have someone who would take time every day to scratch my ears and rub my belly.  That makes me very happy.  I also love to go on walks with my people.  I have nice house manners and I am calm enough to be a good companion.  Just tell me what you want to do! Oh ... I would really love to be an only child.  I get along fine with all my foster friends that I have known for a while, but sometimes I don't meet new dogs well. I’m not too pushy demanding attention, but I really want to stay close to where you are.  If you tell me where you want me to be, I’ll do my best to try to stay there.  Here at my foster home I don’t have to ‘ask’ to go outside to potty because we get to go out in playgroups several times every day, but I know that’s where I’m supposed to go.  I will even stay in a crate if you ask me too even though it’s not my favorite place to be. I don’t mind being leash walked, but I would LOVE to have a fenced yard to play in.  It will keep me safe because I do have a bad habit of wandering off. My size sort of scares people sometimes, so my search for friends does not always make other people happy. My Foster Mom says I’m sorta smart.  I do know ‘sit’ and most of the time I will come when she calls me (unless I’m busy doing something else!)  I sorta like to ride in the car.  I don’t get to do it very often, but I think I could really learn to like it as long as I could be with my people. So … here are some other important things about me … I weigh about 65 lbs (ok maybe I could lose a few pounds), I am spayed, up-to-date on my shots, and I am microchipped. I do come with papers … Adoption Papers … the best kind.  And my adoption fee is $75. Note from the AAMR Adoption Committee:  We are an all-volunteer group, so please be patient and understand that it takes an average of 7-14 days to process the applications including reference checks, follow-up questions and home visits.  You can expedite the process by providing accurate email addresses for all your references.  Time to make phone calls is limited and we often have multiple applications in process.  We make every effort to move through them as quickly as possible. When your application is approved, we will schedule a meet-and-greet and home visit to see if Chessie picks you too. If it seems that the adoption will be a good match for all, there is an adoption fee, and an adoption contract to be signed. More questions …. email them to 

More about Chessie

Age: Adult
Size: Medium
Gender: Female
Location: Huddleston, VA
OK w/ Cats: No

Related Pets for Adoption