Petey (ROMAN) (American Staffordshire Terrier / Pit Bull Terrier / Mixed (short coat))

About the shelter

Eleventh Hour Rescue

P.O. Box 218 Rockaway, 07866

More about the shelter

About Petey (ROMAN)

Distance: 344 Miles
Hello there, my name is Petey :) Clearly you can see that I am just a handsome boy! I was taken into Eleventh Hour when my recent owners could no longer care for me. Since coming to EHR I have met many wonderful people. My foster who takes me home says I am housebroken, know all my basic commands (and a few bonus extras)  UPDATE FROM CURRENT HOME: In the time we have had him Petey has improved his understanding of basic commands (sit, stay, down) as well as learned some new ones. We have been working on "Leave it" and "Drop it" and he has been responding well. We also are able to get him to wait for his food until we give the "OK" and are able to stop him eating with "leave it." We have not noticed any type of food aggression with him, he takes treats very nicely and won't take a treat until we say "OK". Petey is very good in the crate. When we first got him we tried to leave him in the house all day and he had an accident on the carpet EVERY day. We tried baby gates and barriers and he always jumped them. We figured it was a separation anxiety reaction from him. Since we started using the crate he has not had one accident and comes and goes from it on his own when the door is open. It definitely keeps him calm when we are out of the house. We do have him sleep in it at night as well, but he of course would love to just be in bed with us all night if he could. He is such a snuggler, still very affectionate and just wanting to be by us all the time. We definitely feel like he needs to be an only dog in a family with no children and who wouldn't have him interact with small animals or children. He definitely needs a lot of attention and love. We think he would love to run around and play in a high fenced yard. He also now responds to the name Dexter.    

More about Petey (ROMAN)

Age: Adult
Size: Large
Gender: Male
Location: Rockaway, NJ
Altered: Yes
OK w/ Cats: No
OK w/ Dogs: No
OK w/ Adults: All
OK w/ Kids: No

Related Pets for Adoption